Wellsboro's Prough, Athens' Gambrell named NTL Athletes of the Year.

By: Chris Manning | Towanda Daily Review | May 21, 2018 | Photo courtesy Chris Manning

Wellsboro's Prough, Athens' Gambrell named NTL Athletes of the Year.

SAYRE - Athens' Breana Gambrell and Wellsboro's Dalton Prough were named the NTL female and male Athletes of the Year at the annual NTL banquet Sunday.

Each school nominates one male and one female senior athlete based on their athletic and academic accomplishments.

"Its really amazing, really special to finally see all my hard work pay off in the end," Gambrell said. "It definitely is the cherry on top for everything. Through all my sports, soccer, basketball, track, everything."

Prough was also happy to receive the award.

"It's an honor to know that I was thought of as the best athlete in all the NTL," Prough said. "There's not much you can say, I think the award speaks for itself. I just feel really proud for all that I've worked for."

Prough won't be competing in college so this acts as a nice cap for his career.

"This is kind of a little bit of the icing on the cake that kind of tops it off for the rest of my senior year," he remarked.

The female nominees were: Gambrell (Athens), Alana Castle (Canton), Amaya Walker (CV), Karli Moyer (NEB), Alyssa Remley (NPL), Alaina McKee (NPM), Blair Wampole (Sayre), Madison Doss (Towanda), Cassie Shedden (Troy), Lizzie Poirier (Wellsboro), Hannah Deacon (Williamson) and Sarah Bird (Wyalusing).

The male nominees were: Prough (Wellsboro), Zack Jayne (Athens), Kaden Martell (Canton), Jacob Baker (CV), Charles LaBarre (NEB), Riley Walker (NPL), Justin Kriner (NPM), Jordan Rockwell (Sayre), Griffin Sites (Towanda), Nate Martin (Troy), Madden Doud (CV) and Jon Morrison (Wyalusing).

All the athletes were given a plaque while the winners received a certificate and a $500 scholarship towards college.

Two other awards were given out: NEB cross-country and track and field coach Mike Murphy was named the NTL Coach of the Year and Tim May was named the Official of the Year.